Baby, Beauty

Feeling human.

Since finding out I was pregnant I have struggled with changing skin. I haven’t had the ‘glow’ people talk about. In fact I would describe myself as looking more bedraggled then anything else. Permanently tired with an outbreak of oily teen looking skin!

I was lucky enough to get some gift vouchers for my birthday and being as I can’t buy myself new clothes, I treated myself to new make up.

Processed with VSCO

I went for two new foundations – one that I could use on a day to day basis and a special occasion one. The Rimmel Match Perfection foundation is amazing for it’s price. Buildable coverage that gives a nice fresh finish. It has great lasting power too. It has really saved me over the last couple of months by hiding my hideous skin and making me look fresh.

I went to a Chanel counter in my local John Lewis, armed with vouchers and determination to treat myself. I explained to the lovely assistant that I wanted something that would cover my blemishes, help with the excess oil I was experiencing and make me look amazing. She delivered on two of the three at least 🙂 She recommended the Le Teint Ultra Tenue in the shade ’30 beige’. I wore this to a wedding a couple of weeks ago and was told by a number of people that I looked healthy and ‘glowing’. It’s a matte finish foundation that gives a dewy finish with amazing coverage. It was still in place a good 12 hours after I put it on. It really does make me feel good when I wear it. 

Alongside the foundations I wanted to get some sheer finish lipsticks. Whilst at the Chanel counter I picked up the rouge coco ultra hydrating lip colour in Marlène which is the perfect spring/summer colour. It is pink-coral toned with a luminous sheen. It lasts well, although given it’s sheen finish does need to be applied more regularly than a matte finish. I think I prefer a sheen finish, it’s less commitment (read: less effort) than a matte lipstick.

I also picked up the Bobbi Brown Nourishing Lip Colour in Ballerina Pink which I had been coveting since seeing it on Hannah Michalaks updated spring make up routine. Oh my goodness – I love it. It’s the perfect pink nude that gives such a natural finish to your lips. I think I may be addicted to wearing it.

From the same video by Hannah I also decided to buy the Bourjois’ Radience Reveal concealer. It definitely conceals and brightens my dark circles, blends in well and doesn’t emphasise of sit in my eye creases. I use the Bobbi Brown Creamy Corrector underneath which also helps on those days when I have barely slept.

I would highly recommend any of these products if you are in the market for some new finds. Have you been loving anything recently or do you have any recommendations to keep me looking as human as possible?

Jennie

x

1 thought on “Feeling human.”

Leave a Reply

